• Peace Corps Coverdell Fellowship Comes to FSU

    The Coverdell Fellowship is offered to Returning Peace Corps Volunteers pursuing an MSW degree at FSU.

    Read more

  • Alumni Lisa Jackson: An Unconquered Ally for Students

    Learn more about alumna Lisa Jackson's work with the FSU Center for Academic Retention and Enhancement and Unconquered Scholars Program.

    Read more

  • Dr. Amy Ai and other Barbour Scholars Recognized for Excellence

    In a centennial celebration, faculty member Dr. Ai and other Barbour Scholars were honored at the University of Michigan.

    Read more

  • 2017 Scholarship & Distinguished Graduate Dinner

    The 2017 Scholarship and Distinguished Graduate Dinner honored social work exemplary alumni and student scholarship recipients.

    Read more

  • Alumna Dr. Kia Bentley JSWE Reviewer of Year

    Dr. Bentley was named Reviewer of the Year for the Journal on Social Work Education.

    Read more

  • Future scholars meet to examine social justice

    Social work doctoral students met to discuss how they can incorporate social justice into social work scholarship.

    Read more

  • MSW student receives Phi Alpha MSW Scholarship award

    MSW student Kapria Lee was awarded one of three competitive Phi Alpha Honors Society MSW scholarship awards.

    Read more

  • College of Social Work partners with Japan on co-parenting

    The Institute for Family Violence Studies is working with two Japanese universities on co-parenting after divorce in Japan.

    Read more

  • College of Social Work receives gift to establish new center

    The Center for the Study and Promotion of Communities, Families and Children was created with the support of The Stoops Family Foundation, Inc.

    Read more

  • Take Your Passion Online

    Our Online MSW program offers convenience and ease to adult learners.

    Read more

Recent News

Alumnus Guy Spearman Receives Faculty Senate Torch Award
Monday, December 11, 2017

Florida State University’s Faculty Senate presented four honored members of the university community its annual Torch Award at dinner and reception on December 4th. Established in 1996, Torch Awards are bestowed on “those who have contributed to the university’s academic excellence.” Nominations are made by FSU faculty members to an award committee who then provide recommendations to the Faculty Senate Steering Committee.

Partnership with U.S. Peace Corps brings Coverdell Fellowship to the MSW Program
Thursday, December 07, 2017

Florida State University College of Social Work in partnership with the U.S. Peace Corps will begin offering the Coverdell Fellowship in 2018 to Returned Peace Corps Volunteers (RPCV) pursuing a Master of Social Work degree. It marks the first time the fellowship will be offered at Florida State in the field of social work.

Alumna Lisa Jackson: An Unconquered Ally for Students
Wednesday, December 06, 2017

Some students start their social work journey with a strong idea of where they want their career to go. Lisa Jackson is just such a person. Her career is right where she wants to be, and it is where her passion lies, working with the students at the Center for Academic Retention and Enhancement (CARE) and the Unconquered Scholars Program at Florida State University.

Dr. Amy Ai and Other Barbour Scholars Recognized for Excellence
Monday, November 20, 2017

The Barbour Scholarship is a signature program of the University of Michigan (UM). As a Barbour Scholar, FSU College of Social Work Professor Dr. Amy L. Ai and a small group of Barbour Scholars represent women of the highest academic and professional caliber from the countries encompassing the large region extending from Turkey in the west to Japan and the Philippines in the east.

2017 Scholarship & Distinguished Graduate Dinner Celebrates Excellence
Monday, November 06, 2017

Florida State University College of Social Work honored its distinguished alumni and student scholarship recipients on Thursday, November 2nd at The Gathering in Tallahassee, Florida. Dean of Academic Affairs Dr. Craig Stanley presided over the event, which included reflections by Dean Jim Clark, Development Director Colette Podgorski, and student speaker and scholarship recipient Julie Mishoe to an audience of current and former students, faculty and staff.


Legacy Sort
Legacy Priority